NZ Comics Weekend on shredded nerves

This sign has been like this for the past month now...
What’s the logical thing to do at nine in the morning when you’ve been unable to sleep for a few days? Attend NZ Comics Weekend! They put a lot of effort into organising it this year, but missed out a few crucial publicity steps, so attendance seemed even lower than last year. I don’t think anyone sold anything while I was there, but I got to see the new installment of Robyn’s inspirational Roddy’s Film Companion. It deserves to be printed as a compiled book. I also saw an extremely arch (verging on defamatory) parody of the lifestyle of the Aro Valley cartoonists… fortunately the author doesn’t know me.

I’m glad that I went. I forgot that it’s all about the enthusiasm of creation.

Comments are closed.

