The whitest thing I’ve ever seen in my life, even whiter than my own pointy arse, and that’s pretty damn white

I went to the Jason Munn rock poster exhibition at A Pop Up Gallery at 161 Tory St after seeing it on Nightline last night. It’s the most polite exhibition I’ve ever seen, full of immaculately screenprinted indie rock posters which have never seen a club wall. The bands, and therefore their posters, are distinguished by their utter, utter bloodlessness, and I know that because I have most of them on my iPod.

Oh, dear.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s immaculate graphic art and the printing techniques are fascinating, but it decidedly does not rock. At all. Very, very Massey School of Design.

One Response to “The whitest thing I’ve ever seen in my life, even whiter than my own pointy arse, and that’s pretty damn white”

  1. I accidentally walked past the opening last night, and had the same cognitive dissonance I always get when witnessing a gallery opening.

    Why is it that art never extends beyond the physical object? Why is something that is supposed to be so experimental and creative and thought-provoking always pinned to white walls and surrounded by people drinking champagne and eating canapes?

    It makes me question the entire reason for conventional art in society. It is to create a butterfly with the intention of pinning it to a corkboard behind a glass screen.

Comments are closed.

