Jitterati: the book stand

I’ve always wanted to have a display stand for my books. Karl Wills made a very nice one several years out of foamboard for his Jessica comics. The tricky thing is to make them robust enough so the books don’t tip them over. I went to Warehouse Stationery to see how much their document holders were, but it must be the sort of thing design students snap up at any cost for their exhibitions – I’m not paying $30 for a lump of plastic from Illinois!

Instead I bought a $10 wire mesh desk tidier, the sort of thing you file letters in, and flattened the back divider. This means it can hold six A4 books comfortably without tipping back. I then stuck a little sign on the front, which can be changed for different books. Because the Jitterati book comes with free coffee, there’s room to stash it behind the stand.

Comments are closed.

