The kindness of strangers

I had a good day today due to the actions of others, which is something of a novelty for me. Some kind anonymous soul sent me a ticket for Neil Gaiman at the Writers & Readers Week on Saturday. I don’t know if this was someone who read this week’s Jitterati, or one of my friends giving me a present. I suppose I’ll find out on Saturday. All I know is that they have nice clear printing, which I appreciate as a cartoonist.

Also, I made my long-awaited District Court appearance, and won. It might’ve helped my deadbeat flatmate’s case if he’d bothered to turn up.

I ended up in a tiny hearing room with a very friendly referee, who I think was relieved to have someone in the room who was less stabby than usual. The District Court isn’t a very nice place. Half the people are tense and the other half furious.

I was going to proudly pin my copy of the finding to my flat’s noticeboard, but then it occurred to me that would look a bit threatening to my other flatmates, like a dead bird tied to a fence as a warning.

I’m wondering if I should replace a slightly dull 3-minute scene in FB:L4G with a song. It depends if I can find anything to rhyme with “calicivirus”.

2 Responses to “The kindness of strangers”

  1. Might I remind you of the lines in The Dentist song from Little Shop:
    “I thrill when I drill a bicuspid,
    It’s swell though they tell me I’m maladjusted”.
    I’m sure you can do it.

    See you at NG tomorrow (I didn’t send you the tickets, so I won’t pretend to take credit)

  2. One of Howard Ashman’s lines.

Comments are closed.

