I think they’re trying to tell me something!

Sometimes there are worse things than not being printed in Salient.

I had to laugh when I noticed that while my colour cartoon is printed on a black and white page, a few pages earlier Robyn’s black and white cartoon is printed on a colour page.

6 Responses to “I think they’re trying to tell me something!”

  1. Rhinocrates Says:

    Maybe, but as a principle, one should not attribute to malice that which can be attributed to stupidity. The former implies competence, but the latter is (scientifically) more parsimonious as an hypothesis. There is already abundant evidence in support of the latter: the editor and designer don’t understand the role of cartoons, as evidenced elsewhere by Robbie’s cartoons being printed at such a reduced scale that the text is nigh unreadable while an unfunny pre-pubescent scrawl gets a third of a page – the cartoons are generally treated as filler and just crammed into odd spaces, scaled to fit. The graphic designer is a moron and the editor’s long shown themselves to be an invertebrate (which is, I admit, unfair to the higher cephalopods, which have superb eyesight, are in fact quite intelligent and charming and make nice pets).

    Of course, malice and stupidity are not mutually exclusive…

  2. What cannot be attributed to malice can be attributed to stupidity, what cannot be attributed to stupidity can be attributed to deadlines.

    Actually the graphic designer is a lovely person, I think this was just deadlines.

    Have you checked out Robbie’s website?

  3. Rhinocrates Says:

    “Lovely” and “out of one’s depth” are also not exclusive… hmm, I would say, if they were good, priorities and taste would… blah blah… but then we know about deadlines… trying to meet one meself right now… to add to the above descriptions of the Salient staff, I may say also that the piano is pissed as a newt.

    Oh, and only if he shaves.

    Must go now – there’s a stack of papers to mark and my squid needs feeding…

  4. Your weekend sounds rather more bizarre than mine.

  5. Rhinocrates Says:

    It is if you have a rich fantasy life.

  6. Ladybug Says:

    Meanwhile this week’s Chaff has a colouring in competition. I kid you not. I have only recently started reading Chaff again. I don’t think there has been a single serious article in the last month, but I think that just means William has tapped into the interests of his target audience – sex and lack thereof, drinking, and being a silly bugger. The cartoon page is a bit of a let down though.

Comments are closed.

