Tron: Legacy

It’s hokum, and slightly underlit hokum at that, but fun enough if you don’t think too hard about it. I mean, I can accept the idea of a human being being digitised by a laser and sucked into a virtual world, but I can’t work out how a program* could follow the opposite process and manifest as a living, breathing human. Where do her atoms come from? What about conservation of mass?

I’m sure there’s pages online devoted to analysing this specific problem, but that’s the problem when thinking about a film that is simultaneously very smart and very dumb. I could make the effort, but I can’t be arsed.

*Represented as Olivia Wilde with a fetching bob, as opposed to the more traditional source code.
2 Responses to “Tron: Legacy”

  1. Rhinocrates Says:

    Hmmm. Problem for me, as well as the physics… OK, I’ll digress on the physics. Laurence Krauss (he’s a real physicist folks) in The Physics of Star Trek pointed out in looking at how transporters might work, is not just the mass and energy, but the information – one would have to replicate the structure of every cell, every molecule and the state of every particle. The only solution is to put the word “quantum” in the script somewhere, and it’ll mean just as much as it does in the blurbs for New Age (translation: noise attributed to certain waterfowl) remedies.

    Now where was I? Oh yes. Metaphors.

    The Grid, as depicted in this film is following the tropes of European, particularly Irish folk-tales of fairyland. Fine, okaaay, follow that line, give them glamour, make them the Sidhe. It sort of does that, and someone in the script department has read their Joseph Campbell, but…

    The original Tron was inspired by what was the state of the art in computing at the time and found a metaphorical landscape that was appropriate then. Tron: Legacy ticks a checklist of references to the original form in terms of its aesthetics and style, but it finds no metaphor for what the Internet is now and consequently has nothing original or even relevant to its setting to say.

    Still, there’s an awful lot of sugar in that eye candy. I think I like that, even though I know it’s not good for me. You can’t sell eye broccoli can you?

  2. No, eye broccoli is what Creative NZ is for!

Comments are closed.

