A unique experience, but not one I wish to repeat

The interesting thing here isn’t that today builders knocked out the ancient pile that supports the small room that I sleep in, and replaced it with a small piece of two-by-four.

The interesting thing is that they jacked it up while I was in it, to my surprise. It felt like an earthquake. And now I can’t open my front door. To the immediate left is a six-metre drop.

I’m going to go sleep in it now. Pray for me.

4 Responses to “A unique experience, but not one I wish to repeat”

  1. Rhinocrates Says:

    OKay, this is definitely endangerment, and I presume that it was unnotified? Time to contact the Tenancy Tribunal.

  2. mafalda Says:

    Please leave that place! đŸ˜¦

  3. It was kind of notified. I heard them shout “one-two-three!” before the floor gave way.

    I told my landlady about the door, expecting she’d get the builders to shave a couple of millimetres off the frame, but instead they lowered the jack fractionally, which was unnecessary because I’d already opened it through strategic use of extreme violence.

    This is why I try to fix things myself, her solution is always worse than the original problem.

  4. Rhinocrates Says:

    My real concern, and your justification for legal complaint, is that it is an unsafe, potentially life-endangering modification to a building with improper notification, let alone consent. That b—- is breaking the law in her dealings with you, repeatedly.

    It’s up to you whether you want to go through the stress of litigation (as you’ve had enough of that, even though you’ve been vindicated). Unfortunately, I think that you have to face the stress of moving, ASAP. The slim silver lining is that the end of the trimester is approaching and a few student flats will be vacated soon.

Comments are closed.

