Blander than newsprint

Our esteemed daily newspaper has a new local cartoon in its Saturday magazine section, and it almost makes me cry, knowing exactly what they could’ve chosen to print in that same space instead.

There’s a big difference between printing shitty, mediocre, pandering, insult-the-intelligence-of-the-reader, dead-at-the-wheel newspaper cartoons because they’re part of a syndication deal, and actively seeking out the shitty, mediocre, pandering local equivalent.

There will never be another great New Zealand newspaper comic strip. There’s no incentive for any local cartoonist to try.

8 Responses to “Blander than newsprint”

  1. mafalda Says:

    The mediocrity of the Dom Post not only discourages local talent; it pushes away smart readers too. For instance, the international section is frankly rubbish. Do intelligent Wellingtonians read the World section to know what’s going on overseas? I don’t think so.

    But given the nonexistent competition, I don’t see why the DomPost would bother making any effort at all.

    As always, I try to find the positive side. In other countries, thanks to the obtuseness of media such as the Dom Post, today we can enjoy brilliant web-comics, zines and other independent publications.

    Despite the shocking regression of ICT in this country, I hope more local artists follow that way.

  2. Rhinocrates Says:

    It would distract the readers from the advertising if it were any good.

    I’ve not paid money for an issue of the Dompost for well over a decade now. If I read one, I grab a free copy at Uni and manage to read everything worthwhile in it between my office and tutorial room before binning it.

    I think it was Samuel Johnson who once said to an aspiring artiste, “Your work is both good and original; unfortunately the parts that are good are not original and the parts that are original are not good.” That sums up the Dompost, except that it doesn’t even have parts that are either good or original.

  3. From what they’ve told me, I think that’s why their cartoons are all in black and white (despite ones like Garfield and Doonesbury being available from the syndicate in colour for no extra charge) – so they don’t distract from the ads.

  4. David Thomsen Says:

    Ah, that explains why I never notice the advertising – when I’m looking for the cartoons I instinctively go for the thing printed in black and white.

  5. Rhinocrates Says:

    This is the way the world ends
    This is the way the world ends
    This is the way the world ends
    Not with a bang but a whimper.

    T. S. Eliot, The Hollow Men

    Hyperbolic, I know, but the newspapers seem to be determined to adopt the Second Law of Thermodynamics as a business plan.

  6. You should try and get your comic printed in the dom post. Then it would at least have some class.

  7. Andria, boy, could I tell you a tale.

  8. I’m listening…

Comments are closed.

