Moana Road -The Return

Like a fool to his folly, I returned to Moana Road to pick up mail, and retrieve a rather nice ice cube tray I’d left in the freezer. After spending three months buggering around outside with a simple paint job, the builders have accelerated unbelievably fast. My first clue was the churned-up path. My second was the bath on the front lawn. Every fixture has been pulled out, every wall stripped back to the wood – I even got to see the original 1890 canvas described in a book about architect Chapman-Taylor. The bathroom looked like a crime scene photo. Heartbreakingly, the table tops I left behind (the famous kidney-shaped ones which used to be in Victoria’s Student Union) are now being used to saw wood on. I wordlessly retrieved my tray and slipped out.

Comments are closed.

